Tarot Card Meanings for Beginners: A Guide

Tarot Card Meanings for Beginners: A Guide

The tarot is a deck of 78 cards, each with its picture, symbol and meaning. The 22 major arcana cards represent big life changes or transitions, while the 56 minor arcana cards represent the smaller, day-to-day issues we all face.

by Cynthia Wilcox

for Assorted Ideas, Large & Small

a woman engaged in fortune telling
Photo by Mikhail Nilov on Pexels.com

To get started reading tarot cards, you first need to understand the meanings of each position in a tarot spread. Below is a brief explanation of each position and what it might represent in your life.

Tarot Card Meanings with Short Descriptions

The Fool: This card represents new beginnings, innocence and naivety. It can also indicate a need for change or taking a risk.

The Magician: The magician is the archetype of someone skilled and resourceful. This card can represent your magical powers, or the need to use them to manifest your desires.

The High Priestess: The high priestess is a symbol of intuition, mystery and hidden knowledge. She reminds us that there is always more to learn and that we should trust our instincts.

-The Empress: The empress is the embodiment of femininity, fertility and abundance. She represents motherhood, nature and the natural world.

-The Emperor: The emperor is the archetype of authority, power and leadership. He represents structure, discipline and fatherhood.

-The Hierophant: The Hierophant is a symbol of traditional values, religion and conformity. He reminds us of the need to respect authority and follow the rules.

crop person with tarot card
Photo by Lucas Pezeta on Pexels.com

-The Lovers: The lovers card represents choices, love and relationships. It can indicate a need to choose between two options or people, or a time of harmony in a relationship.

-The Chariot: The chariot represents victory, assertiveness and willpower. It can indicate the need to take control of your life and make things happen.

-Strength: Strength is a symbol of courage, inner strength and perseverance. It can represent the need to stand up for yourself or others or to overcome a challenge.

The Hermit: The hermit is a symbol of introspection, wisdom and solitude. He reminds us that we need time to ourselves to reflect and learn.

-Wheel of Fortune: The wheel of fortune represents luck, change and cycles. It can indicate that good or bad luck is on the way, or that a change is coming.

-Justice: Justice is a symbol of balance, fairness and the law. It can represent the need to make things right or to take responsibility for your actions.

The Hanged Man: The hanged man is a symbol of sacrifice, contemplation and new perspectives. He reminds us that sometimes we need to let go in order to move forward.

-Death: Death is a symbol of endings, transformation and new beginnings. It can indicate that something in your life needs to end in order for something new to begin.

-Temperance: Temperance is a symbol of balance, moderation and harmony. It can represent the need to find a middle ground or to align opposing forces.

The Devil: The devil is a symbol of addiction, materialism and greed. He represents the dark side of human nature and the need to overcome our baser instincts.

-The Tower: The tower is a symbol of destruction, chaos and upheaval. It can represent the need to let go of something that is no longer working, or a time of upheaval in your life.

-The Star: The star is a symbol of hope, inspiration and guidance. She reminds us that there is always light at the end of the tunnel and that we should never give up hope.

-The Moon: The moon is a symbol of intuition, emotion and the subconscious mind. She represents the feminine principle and the need to trust our instincts.

chariot tarot card lying among red tulips
Photo by Alena Yanovich on Pexels.com

-The Sun: The sun is a symbol of enlightenment, happiness and success. He represents the masculine principle and the need to take action and move forward.

-Judgment: Judgment is a symbol of rebirth, karma and the cycle of life. It can represent the need to let go of the past and move on, or the chance to start anew.

-The World: The world is a symbol of completion, fulfillment and success. It represents the attainment of our goals and the realization of our dreams.


These are just some of the tarot card meanings for beginners. As you become more familiar with the tarot, you will begin to interpret the cards in your own way. There is no right or wrong way to read the tarot, so trust your intuition and go with what feels right for you. Thanks for reading!

More from Assorted Ideas, Large & Small

  • New York City Pride March, June 26th, 2022
    Celebrating LGBTQIA+, the New York City Pride March steps out at noon from the intersection of Fifth Avenue and 25th Street at the north end of Madison Square Park. This week, emotions surrounding Pride turned
  • If you knew as much about pigs as I do, you’d change
    Pigs are one of the most commonly misunderstood animals in the world and, as a result, one of the most cruelly mistreated. People are told that pigs are dirty, stupid, and smelly. But along with
  • Take a walk on the wild side: The benefits of forest bathing
    Forest bathing, also known as Shinrin-yoku, means “taking in the forest atmosphere.” It is a practice that has been used for centuries in Japan to promote physical and emotional health. Forest bathing is simple: you
  • The history of the hippie movement and its impact on society
    In the late 1960s and early 1970s, in the hippie movement, young people rebelled against the traditional values of their parents and society. They rejected materialism and embraced a more simple lifestyle. This countercultural group
  • David Stone: My Life As A Writer
    I proudly write this: my chosen profession of writing/author is ‘sexier’ than you might imagine. Think about it now, and please film yourself as you think! Does everyone grow up, knowing what they want to

Written by:

2,354 Posts

View All Posts
Follow Me :

Leave a Reply

You May Have Missed

%d bloggers like this: